I Just Don't Get It/Licensing Questions

• I'm still a relative newcomer to anime (my first besides Pokemon in my childhood was FMA: Brotherhood), as I started back in May 2014. As such, I am still learning the norm around here at FUNimation. So I have a question: how common is it for FUNimation to gain home video rights for a show that they originally only got for streaming rights (I'm referencing Noragami and Terror in Resonance)? I wish to buy these in the future but I'm not sure if they will get the rights.

Thank you in advance.

• they have acquired home media rights for nearly every show they simulcast. can only think of a few that were never picked up due to low interest or the disaster that was Funico

• Basically it boils down to this:

Unless it just really, really tanks in the streaming numbers, or if it's something they just don't see performing well with a physical release, 9 times out of 10 they will dub it and release it on home video.

Considering that both Noragami and Terror in Resonance pulled in some pretty good streaming numbers, and considering that Noragami has Studio Bones and Terror has Watanabe's name slapped on it to help boost physical sales, I'd say the odds are extremely good that both will get a physical home release sometime within the next year.

• There's also the possibility of issues with the company that could prevent Funi from getting further rights. Symphogear is one such title. Someone told me a lo.g while back that there were issues with the music rights. And considering it has 3 seasons, it's pretty irritating that it never got resolved.

• @bossman12340:

…I started back in May 2014.

You say that like it's been a while. You know when I started? When Tenchi Muyo premiered on Cartoon Network. That was in July 2000. You kids today with your HD Playstations and streaming smartphone Roku apps and your…. uh.... what do the kids like these days.... Morgan Freeman!

• @StarwindAmada: