In my ire over the past several weeks about the extremely slow speed of this site, I had at one point decided that I would no longer not only consider subscribing to this site, but that I would close my account.
I removed most of the content I posted, and was ready to delete, only to find that there is NO such function. How can that be? Even Facebook allows you to delete your account.
Anyway, though I have decided I will stay and fight the fight for a better site, I think it's important that this option be made available for those who wish to leave and not leave an account that could be hijacked behind.