Here you can find answers to questions about how the board works. Use the links or search box below to find your way around.
Every registered member of FUNimation.com has a publicly viewable profile page. This page includes information provided by the member, either during the registration process or later on via the settings in Account --> Site & Profile Settings --> Profile.
There are a number of ways to view a member's profile. Whenever you see a member's name, clicking on it will usually take you to view their profile page.
The members list allows you to browse all registered members, and quickly click through to public profiles.
When logged in, you can also view your own public profile by logging into the site, clicking on your username and expanding the site header at the top of the page, and then by clicking on 'Profile'.
Your profile lists information about yourself, contains your Queue, lists items that you have added to your favorites, contains all playlists and wish lists that you have created, and saves a history of certain pages of the site that you have visited.
The information on the Overview page of your profile is separated into widgets. You can arrange these widgets in the order that you would like other users to see them. You can also set the viewing permissions some of the widgets in your Account under Site & Profile Settings --> Privacy.
What are the other sections of my profile?
Which sections of my profile can be hidden from other users?
You can control the viewing permissions for the About Me, History, Friends, Favorites, Wish Lists, and Playlists sections of your profile. If you set the permission to 'Public', all users including ones not logged in, can see the section. If you set the permission to 'Friends', only users that have been added to your Friends List can see the section. If you set the permission to 'Private', then only you can see the section. Administrators can see all sections of your profile.
What is the viewing permission for my Queue?
Your Queue is always set to private, this includes the Queue widget on the Overview tab. This means that only you and site Administrators can see it. This permission cannot be changed.
Viewing permissions are controlled in your Account under Site & Profile Settings --> Privacy.
You can control the viewing permissions for the About Me, History, Friends, Favorites, Wish Lists, and Playlists sections of your profile. You can also control which of the widgets displays in the Overview section. The Queue widget and section are always set to private. By default your history is set to private, but you can change this setting.
Public (Globe icon): All users including ones not logged in, can see the content. Friends (People icon): Only users that have been added to your Friends List can see the content. Private (No symbol icon): Only you and Administrators can see the content.
You can set and change your avatar in your Account under 'Site & Profile Settings --> Profile.
To upload a new avatar, click on the Choose File button. Select an image to upload. Then click 'OK'. Your avatar will automatically update throughout the site. The maximum dimensions allowed for user avatars are 155 pixels high by 155 pixels tall.
You can add shows, videos, products, forums, and threads to your favorites.
To add shows, videos, and products to your favorites:
Move your mouse over any show, video, product thumbnail. Click on the heart icon that appears. A green message will display if the item has been added to your favorites.
To add forums and threads to your favorites:
When you do this, you are actually following (subscribing to) the forum or thread. For forums, click on the + button on any forum listing. For threads, click on "Thread Tools" and then on "Follow Thread".
These settings are in your Account under 'Site & Profile Settings --> General. You can set the following options:
What is the difference between a friend and a contact?
A friendship is a mutual, two-way relationship between two users. It is initiated by one user and accepted by the other.
A contact is a one-way friendship. This could be where the other person does not accept the friendship, a friendship request is pending, or you do not wish to be friends at this time but want to show them as a contact only.
Where is my list of friends and contacts displayed?
Your friends and contacts are displayed on the 'Friends' page in your profile.
How can I request a friend, accept a friend or break a friendship?
There are two ways to request a friendship with someone.
The easiest way is to view the profile page of the person you want to become friends with and click the 'Add as Friend' link.
The other way is to add the person to your contacts first. Then from your 'Friends' page ask to be their friend by checking the box next to their name labelled 'Friend'. Next, save the page.
If you know the username of the person you want to be friends with you can send a friend request using the box provided and clicking 'Add Friend'.
To accept a friend, go to your 'Friends' page. At the bottom of the page you will see a list of pending requests. Check the box for the requests you wish to accept then check the 'Accept' button and save the changes. If you do not wish to be friends then select 'Reject' instead.
Breaking a friendship can be done in three ways.
How do I send Private Messages?
Private messages work a little like email, but are limited to registered members of FUNimation.com. You may be able to include BB code, smilies and images in private messages that you send.
You may send a private message to a member of FUNimation.com by clicking the Send A Private Message underneath the user's avatar in the left sidebar on their profile, or by clicking the 'Send a Private Message' link in the drop down menu that appears in a member's posts when you click on their username.
When you send a message, you have the option to save a copy of it in your 'Sent Items' folder.
How do I work with Private Message Folders?
By default, you will have two folders in your private message area. These are the 'Inbox' and the 'Sent' Items folders.
The 'Inbox' folder contains any new messages you receive. It allows you to view all the messages you have received, along with the name of the person who sent it, and the date and time it was sent.
The 'Sent Items' folder contains a copy of any messages that you have sent, where you have specified that you wish to keep a copy for future reference.
You can create additional folders for your messages by clicking the 'Edit Folders' link. After creating a folder, you will need to refresh your browser in order to see the link to your folder appear in the sidebar on the left side of your profile.
Each folder has a set of message controls which allow you to select messages, then either move them to one of your custom folders, or delete them. Once you have selected your messages, you can choose the following options in the 'Selected Messages' box at the bottom of the list:
You will need to periodically delete old messages, as the administrator has probably set a limit to the number of private messages you can have in your folders. If you exceed this number, you will not be able to send or receive new messages until you delete some old ones.
If you would like to keep a record of your messages before you delete them, you can use any of the 'Download as..' options listed above to take a copy and store them on your own computer.
Whenever you read a message, you will have the option to reply or forward it to another member of the forum. You may also have the ability to forward that message to multiple members of your contact list.
How do I track messages?
When you send a new private message, you may have the option to request a read-receipt. This lets you check whether or not a message has been read by its recipient. To do this, go to the 'Message Tracking' page.
This page is divided into two sections: unread and read messages.
The unread messages section shows all messages that you have sent with a read-receipt request, that have not yet been read by their recipient.
The read messages section shows all messages you have sent with a receipt request that have been read and acknowledged by their recipient. The time that the message was read is also shown.
You may choose to end the tracking on any message you choose by selecting it and clicking the 'End Tracking' button.
When you receive a message with a read-receipt request, you may have the option to read the message while denying the read-receipt request. To do this, simply click the 'Deny Receipt' link rather than the title of the message, if it appears.